50+3 Leaf’s are on my mind, 1st exhibition game tonight

Ever since 1970 I have been a fan of the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey team. Now granted the Leafs have not been very good for a number of years since the lockout in fact.

I have not seen a Leafs Playoff game since that I believe it has been 6 or 7 years depending if you count the lock out year where no one played a playoff game.

Back in 1970 at our house we only had one television and my father is a man that has no interest in Sports what so ever. so unless my dad was out of the room I would not get many opportunities  to watch the Leafs play. One night my father allowed me to switch the station to the hockey game during commercials of his movie. It was a game against the Detroit Redwings and the Leafs won that game 13-0 and I saw a goal every time I changed the channel.

Of course I still feel cheated in 1993 when Wayne Gretzky High Sticked Dougie Gilmour which stole away from me the chance to watch The Leafs and Habs battle for Sir Stanley’s Mug.

Fast forward to last season I had used a number of times Leafs based avatars for my twitter account and for a while I was using an old picture of Jacques Plant that was a goalie near the end of his career when he played for the Leafs in 1971.

While on twitter one day I entered a contest on @cyndiallison ‘s Barbecue master blog and I won a couple of coupons for Dean’s Dips and Cyndi told me later that she thought I was a 20 something year old hockey player, after chatting with her a few times and becoming an on-line friend she now knows I am not quite that young or athletic for that matter.

Since then I have changed my twitter avatar to the BBQ logo I use for my other blog Oshawa Ogre’s Views, News & BBQ’s but I may switch to a hockey icon sometimes during the season if I feel like it.

Now for the reason that I am writing about the Leafs today, Tonight is the Leafs first pre-season game against the rival Ottawa Senators and I am so pumped!

Do I think the leafs will challenge for the cup this season, no, will they make the playoffs? maybe not but will they entertain me for a couple of hours 3 times a week til April? yes they will.

I am hoping to drive to Florida in January and one of the things at the top of my list to do on that trip is to watch a Leafs game live in either North Carolina, or Tampa Florida which is a lot cheaper to do than to watch a game at the ACC in Toronto where tickets cost more than premium BBQ Grill and that is if you can pry tickets away from Corporate Toronto business men that sit on their hands or they are  eating sushi and closing business deals, not true fans of the game.

Here is my friend Herman watching the game….

Leave a Reply

