50+76 Colour me Stupid!

Being the nice dad I am today I put new front brakes on my daughters car, doing your own brakes can save a lot of money compared to going to the mechanics shop, It also helps that I know what I am doing, but it does not mean that I can not make a mistake.

It was starting to get a little dark as I finished the last side of the car and I put one of the brake pads in backwards (they are not supposed to go in wrong) Not a big problem as I found out as soon as I got out of the driveway and put on the brakes for the first time.

The sound of metal against metal is not the best sound to hear…. Doh!

So I took the wheel back off and right away knew what I did wrong and the new brake rotor was pretty scraped up, I could of spent $10.00 to get it machined, but they were only $25.00 new so I chalked it up to experience and bought another.

When I went to guy behind the parts counter (same guy I bought the parts from earlier in the day, I walked in and proclaimed “Colour me stupid” to which he responded “Sorry I used up all my pastels on the other customers” Well at least I got a laugh out of it.

Still total cost of doing the front brakes on a Grand Prix was only $141.00

But I still have the back ones to do too, so another day, better to do this in daylight me thinks.

Leave a Reply

